11 Best Delivery App Jobs

There are many opportunities to make money in the delivery business. Here are some of the best delivery app jobs you can find to earn money.

The best delivery app job for most people is DoorDash. It is available in over 7,000 US cities, it has no specific vehicle requirements, and you can cash out daily. If you would rather shop for orders than wait at restaurants, Instacart, Shipt or Spark Driver fit better, and Amazon Flex is the only app here that publishes an hourly pay range.

Almost every app below treats you as an independent contractor. That means flexible hours, but gas, insurance, phone data and taxes come out of what you earn. I checked each company's own driver page for the age, vehicle and payout rules listed here. Where a company does not publish a pay figure, I say so instead of guessing.

Delivery is one of the options in our full list of the best side hustles. If you do not have a car, bike or scooter, the phone-only options in our guide to side hustle apps are an easier place to start. Every app on this page requires you to be at least 18, so younger readers should look at side hustles for teens instead.

Delivery Apps Compared

Here is every app on this page side by side. “Not published” means the company does not give a pay figure on its driver pages, and “not confirmed” means its driver pages would not load when I checked.

AppWhat you deliverMinimum ageVehicle neededPublished payHow fast you can cash out
DoorDashFood, convenience18+Car, bike or scooter$2 to $10+ per deliveryDaily ($1.99) or weekly
InstacartGroceriesNot confirmedCarNot publishedMinutes (small fee) or weekly
Uber EatsFood, convenience18+ (19 by car)Car, scooter, bike or on footNot publishedUp to 6 times a day (fee) or weekly
ShiptGroceries18+CarNot publishedNot stated
GrubhubRestaurant food18+Car, bike or scooterNot published15 minutes after a delivery
Amazon FlexPackages, groceries21+Midsize sedan or larger$18 to $25 per hourDaily if you choose
Spark DriverWalmart orders18+CarNot publishedNot stated
FavorLocal orders (Texas)18+Car, motorcycle or scooter$2 to $14+ per orderAnytime ($0.99) or weekly
SauceyAlcohol21 Not confirmedNot confirmedNot publishedNot confirmed
GopuffSnacks, household21 Not confirmedInsured vehicleNot publishedNot confirmed
EazeCannabis21 Not confirmedNot confirmedNot publishedNot confirmed
Minimum ages and vehicle rules vary by state and city. The details for each app are in its section below.
The fastest path to your first delivery payout:
  • Apply to two apps today, because background checks can take a few days.
  • Work your first shifts at lunch, dinner or on a weekend, when orders are busiest.
  • Check what each order pays before you accept it and skip the ones that do not cover the drive.
  • Use the app's daily or instant cash out if you cannot wait for the weekly deposit.
Track your miles from the first delivery. You will want the record at tax time.

What Delivery Drivers Actually Earn

Most delivery apps will not tell you what a typical driver makes, and the best independent research puts take-home pay well below what the sign up pages suggest. These are the only figures I can stand behind.

What the companies publish

  • Amazon Flex: most delivery partners earn $18 to $25 per hour. That is before expenses, and Amazon says you cover your own mileage, parking and tolls.
  • DoorDash: base pay of $2 to $10+ per delivery, plus promotions and tips.
  • Favor: base pay of $2 to $14+ per order, plus tips.
  • Everyone else: Uber Eats, Instacart, Shipt, Grubhub, Spark Driver, Saucey, Gopuff and Eaze publish no pay figure.

What independent research found

The UC Berkeley Labor Center report “Gig Passenger and Delivery Driver Pay in Five Metro Areas,” by Ken Jacobs, Michael Reich, Tynan Challenor and Aida Farmand, analyzed 52,370 trips by 1,088 drivers on six passenger and delivery platforms in the Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco Bay and Seattle areas.

  • With tips, after expenses: delivery drivers earned a median of $13.62 an hour in the California metros and $9.87 an hour in the other metros.
  • Without tips, after expenses: $5.93 an hour in California and $0.48 an hour in the other metros.

The report was published in May 2024 using January 2022 data from big cities, so treat it as a reality check and not a forecast for your town. The lesson still holds: tips are most of what a delivery driver takes home, and expenses eat a large share of the rest.

A worked example: gross versus net

This is an example with assumptions you can change, not a promise of what you will make. It uses the low end of the one hourly range any company here publishes.

  • One 4-hour Amazon Flex block at $18 an hour
  • 60 miles driven, including the trip to the pickup point and back home
  • A car that gets 25 miles per gallon
  • Gas at $3.50 a gallon
LineAmountPer hour
Gross pay (4 hours x $18)$72.00$18.00
Gas (60 miles / 25 mpg = 2.4 gallons x $3.50)$8.40
Left after gas$63.60$15.90
Full cost of the miles at the IRS rate (60 miles x $0.76)$45.60
Left after full car costs$26.40$6.60

The two results answer different questions. The gas-only number is roughly what you see in your bank account that week. The second uses the IRS standard mileage rate for business driving, 76 cents a mile for July through December 2026, which is built to cover gas plus maintenance, insurance and the value your car loses with every mile. It replaces the gas line instead of adding to it, and it is closer to what the work costs you over a year.

To run your own numbers, take what the app paid you, subtract your miles times your cost per mile, and divide by every hour you were logged in, waiting time included. The same math works on a single order. A $7 order with a 6 mile round trip costs about $4.56 at the IRS rate, which leaves $2.44. You also owe income tax and self-employment tax on the profit, because no app here withholds it.

Best Delivery App Jobs to Work For

1. DoorDash

Daily Cash Out

DoorDash is the easiest delivery app to start with, and it is available in over 7,000 US cities. Every offer shows a guaranteed minimum before you accept, and DoorDash lists base pay at $2 to $10+ per delivery. Peak Pay, Challenges and Boosts add extra pay at busy times, and 100% of customer tips go to you. Any car works, and in select cities a scooter or bicycle does too. Deposits go out weekly, or you can cash out once a day with Fast Pay for $1.99.

Over 7,000 US citiesKeep 100% of tipsAny car works
Become a Dasher →
Tip: Apply a few days before you need the money. Sign up takes a few minutes, but DoorDash says new Dashers start earning within days, not the same day.

First step: Start the Dasher sign up with your driver's license and Social Security number in hand, since the background check is the part that takes days.

More on DoorDash: requirements, pay and downsides

What you need

You must be at least 18. The minimum is 19 in Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Kentucky, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, Texas, Utah and West Virginia, and 21 for new applicants in California. You need a smartphone and a Social Security number for the background check. For car deliveries you also need a valid driver's license and personal auto insurance.

Cons

Base pay on a single order can be as low as $2, so a slow hour or a run of low-tip orders does not leave much after gas. In the standard Earn per Offer mode you are paid per delivery, not for the time you spend waiting for the next order.

Pay

DoorDash does not publish an average hourly figure. Each order pays base pay plus promotions plus tips. Some areas also offer Earn by Time, which pays a guaranteed minimum rate for the time you are active on a delivery, plus tips. Our DoorDash review covers pay, costs and who should skip it in more detail.

Jobs like DoorDash

The closest alternatives are Uber Eats and Grubhub for restaurant orders, and Instacart, Shipt and Spark Driver if you prefer shopping orders. Caviar is owned by DoorDash, so if you sign up to deliver for Caviar you go through the DoorDash sign up process.

2. Instacart

Vehicle neededCarHow fast you can cash outMinutes (small fee) or weekly

Instacart is grocery delivery. As a full-service shopper you accept a batch in the Shopper app, pick the items in the store, check out, and drive the order to the customer. You are an independent contractor and you choose your own hours.

Instacart has also offered an in-store shopper role in some areas. In-store shoppers are part-time employees who shop orders but do not deliver them, so no car is needed. Availability varies, so check the Shopper app for the roles open near you.

First step: Download the Instacart Shopper app and start the sign up to see which roles are open near you. Instacart says new shoppers can start in as soon as 1 hour in certain areas.

More on Instacart: requirements, pay and downsides

What you need

Instacart's shopper site did not load its requirements when I checked, so confirm the current list when you apply. Plan on needing to be an adult with a recent smartphone, and full-service shoppers need regular access to a vehicle and the ability to carry heavy grocery orders.

Pros

You can see the estimated earnings for a batch before you accept it, so you can pass on orders that are not worth the trip.

Cons

Shopping takes longer than a restaurant pickup, and you will carry heavy items like cases of water. Busy stores and out-of-stock items slow you down, and you absorb that time.

Pay

Instacart pays per batch, plus customer tips. It does not publish an average hourly figure, and what you make depends on the batches available in your area. Treat any hourly number you see online as a guess.

Jobs like Instacart

Shipt and Spark Driver, both covered below, are the closest matches. Amazon Flex also has grocery delivery blocks.

3. Uber Eats

Cash Out 6x a Day

Uber Eats is the main alternative to DoorDash, and it is where Postmates couriers deliver now. You see how much an order pays before you accept it, and you keep 100% of your tips. Instant Pay lets you cash out up to 6 times a day for a fee, or you can let earnings transfer to your bank each week. You can sign up to deliver by car, scooter, bike or on foot.

See pay before you acceptKeep 100% of tipsBike and foot delivery
Deliver With Uber Eats →
Tip: If you already drive for Uber, you can use the same app for deliveries. Turn them on when ride requests are slow.

First step: Sign up to deliver with Uber Eats and choose your delivery method first (car, scooter, bike or on foot), because that decides which documents Uber asks for.

More on Uber Eats: requirements, pay and downsides

Is Postmates still a delivery app job?

No. Uber bought Postmates and moved its couriers onto Uber Eats. Postmates still exists as a brand for customers, but the “Sign up to deliver” link on its website now goes to Uber's delivery sign up. Any advice you find about the old Postmates Fleet app is out of date.

What you need

To deliver by bike or on foot you must be at least 18 and have a government-issued ID. To deliver by car, scooter or motorbike you must be at least 19 and have a valid driver's license, and car drivers must be 21 in California and New York State. A 2-door or 4-door car is fine. Uber runs a background screening using your Social Security number.

Cons

Instant Pay charges a fee, which eats into small cash outs. Like every app here, quiet hours mean few requests, and you cover your own gas while you wait.

Pay

Uber Eats pay is a base fare plus promotions plus tips. Uber does not publish an hourly average for couriers.

Jobs like Uber Eats

The closest jobs to Uber Eats are DoorDash and Grubhub for restaurant orders. If you want shopping orders instead, look at Instacart, Shipt and Spark Driver. Amazon Flex is the option for longer package routes.

4. Shipt

Minimum age18+Vehicle neededCar

Shipt is a grocery and household delivery service owned by Target. Shoppers accept an order in the app, shop it, and deliver it in their own vehicle.

First step: Download the Shipt Shopper app and submit your details. Check first that you are a named, insured driver on the car you plan to use.

More on Shipt: requirements, pay and downsides

What you need

You must be at least 18 with a valid US driver's license, a Social Security number, auto insurance and a valid mailing address. You need a reliable vehicle. You do not have to own it, but you must be an insured driver on its policy. Shipt also asks that you can lift 50 pounds and have an iPhone (iOS 13 or newer) or Android (7.0 or newer).

Pros

Base pay is shown per offer, and customer tips are paid on top of it. Active shoppers get a free Shipt membership as long as they complete at least one shop every 90 days.

Cons

You need a car and auto insurance, so this is not an option for bike couriers. The 50 pound lifting requirement matters when an order includes pet food or cases of drinks.

Pay

Shipt pays base pay per order based on the estimated time and effort, plus tips, with bonuses available on top. It does not publish an hourly average.

Jobs like Shipt

Instacart and Spark Driver are the closest jobs to Shipt. Amazon Flex grocery blocks are similar if you prefer a set shift.

5. Grubhub

Minimum age18+Vehicle neededCar, bike or scooterHow fast you can cash out15 minutes after a delivery

Grubhub is one of the oldest restaurant delivery apps. The main difference from DoorDash and Uber Eats is block scheduling: you can reserve blocks of time in advance for when you want to deliver.

First step: Apply on Grubhub's driver site and note which vehicle types your market allows before you plan to deliver by bike or scooter.

More on Grubhub: requirements, pay and downsides

What you need

You must be 18, or 21 in Las Vegas, and have a smartphone with a data plan. Depending on your market you can deliver by car, motorcycle, bicycle or scooter. Car drivers need a valid driver's license and auto insurance. Bike couriers need a driver's license or state ID.

Pros

You keep 100% of tips from completed deliveries. Instant Cash Out sends earnings to your bank account, and Grubhub says earnings are available 15 minutes after a delivery is completed.

Cons

Coverage depends on your market, and bike or scooter delivery is only allowed in some of them. Planning around blocks suits people with a set schedule more than people who want to log on at random.

Pay

Grubhub pay is base pay (which accounts for mileage, delivery type and time), plus tips, plus mission bonuses. Grubhub does not publish an hourly average.

Jobs like Grubhub

DoorDash and Uber Eats are the closest jobs to Grubhub, and Favor is another option if you live in Texas.

6. Amazon Flex

Minimum age21+Vehicle neededMidsize sedan or largerPublished pay$18 to $25 per hourHow fast you can cash outDaily if you choose

Amazon Flex is package and grocery delivery in your own car. You reserve a delivery block in the app, pick up from an Amazon delivery station or a store, and deliver along a route. Blocks for Amazon.com packages are typically 3 to 6 hours, and Amazon Fresh grocery blocks are typically 2 to 4 hours.

First step: Download the Amazon Flex app and upload a clear photo of your driver's license. It has to show you are at least 21.

More on Amazon Flex: requirements, pay and downsides

What you need

You must be 21 or older with a valid driver's license, personal auto insurance and a smartphone. Amazon asks for a 4-door, midsize sedan or a larger vehicle.

Pros

It is the only app on this list that publishes an hourly range, and you choose which weekday or weekdays you get paid.

Cons

You need a bigger car than the other apps ask for, bikes are not an option, and the minimum age is 21. A block is a commitment of several hours, not one quick order.

Pay

Amazon says most delivery partners earn $18 to $25 per hour, and that actual earnings vary with location, tips and how long deliveries take. On tipped orders you receive 100% of the tips.

Jobs like Amazon Flex

Spark Driver, Shipt and Instacart are the closest jobs to Amazon Flex if you want to deliver from stores in your own car.

7. Spark Driver

Minimum age18+Vehicle neededCar

Spark Driver is the app Walmart uses for delivery. You pick up customer orders from Walmart stores, and on some orders shop them first, then deliver them in your own vehicle.

First step: Start the Spark Driver sign up and enter where you want to drive. That is the only way to see the earnings estimate for your area.

More on Spark Driver: requirements, pay and downsides

What you need

You must be 18 or older and authorized to work as an independent contractor in the US. You need an unexpired driver's license in your name, your Social Security card, and valid auto insurance for your delivery vehicle. Spark runs a background check that includes your motor vehicle record.

Pros

You earn per trip, with incentives and promotions on top. Spark also has a rewards program with tiers, and drivers can get fuel discounts through Walmart+.

Cons

Spark does not show pay rates up front. Its site gives estimates only after you enter your location, so you will not know what your area pays until you start signing up.

Pay

Spark Driver pay is trip earnings plus incentives, and customers can tip. Walmart does not publish an hourly average.

Jobs like Spark Driver

Instacart and Shipt are the closest jobs to Spark Driver. Amazon Flex is similar if you prefer scheduled blocks.

8. Favor

Minimum age18+Vehicle neededCar, motorcycle or scooterPublished pay$2 to $14+ per orderHow fast you can cash outAnytime ($0.99) or weekly

Favor is a Texas delivery app that is part of the H-E-B family. Its couriers are called Runners, and it operates in more than 400 cities across Texas, including Austin, Dallas, Houston, San Antonio and Corpus Christi.

First step: If you live in Texas, apply to be a Runner on Favor's site and have a bank account ready for direct deposit.

More on Favor: requirements, pay and downsides

What you need

You must be at least 18 with a valid driver's license, a clean driving record and a background check. You also need a smartphone, reliable transportation (car, truck, motorcycle or scooter), personal auto insurance and a bank account for direct deposit.

Pros

Runners keep 100% of the customer's tip, and Favor requires a minimum tip on all orders. You get automatic weekly deposits, or you can use Instant Pay to transfer earnings anytime for $0.99.

Cons

Favor only operates in Texas.

Pay

Favor lists base pay at $2 to $14+ per order based on time, distance and effort, plus tips, with promos in select areas. It does not publish an hourly average.

Jobs like Favor

DoorDash, Uber Eats and Grubhub all operate in Texas too, so you can run one of them alongside Favor.

9. Saucey

Saucey is an alcohol delivery app that operates in a limited number of large US cities. Couriers pick up beer, wine and spirits and deliver them to the customer. Because every order is alcohol, expect a minimum age of 21 and an ID check at every drop off.

First step: Check Saucey's site to confirm it is taking couriers in your city before you do anything else. If it is not, apply to DoorDash or Uber Eats instead.

More on Saucey: requirements, pay and downsides

Pros

Orders are simple: there is no shopping list to work through and no waiting on a restaurant kitchen.

Cons

Coverage is small compared with the food apps. Saucey's courier sign up pages were not loading when I checked, so confirm it is taking new couriers in your city before you count on it.

Pay

Saucey does not publish courier pay, so I am not going to quote a figure.

Jobs like Saucey

Drizly, the best known alternative, was shut down by Uber. DoorDash and Uber Eats both deliver alcohol in some markets, and they are the easier way into this kind of work.

10. Gopuff

Vehicle neededInsured vehicle

Gopuff delivers snacks, drinks and household basics from its own local warehouses instead of from restaurants or supermarkets. Every order starts at the same pickup point, so you are not driving between restaurants or waiting on a kitchen. It started in Philadelphia and now operates in many US cities.

First step: Enter your address in the Gopuff app to see if it delivers to you. If it does not, there is no Gopuff location close enough to work from.

More on Gopuff: requirements, pay and downsides

What you need

Gopuff's driver pages were not loading when I checked. Its listings for delivery partners ask for a valid US driver's license, a smartphone and an insured vehicle, and commonly a minimum age of 21. Confirm the details on the application for your city.

Pros

One pickup location means less dead driving between orders.

Cons

It only works if you live near a Gopuff location, and bike delivery is not something to count on.

Pay

Gopuff does not publish what its delivery partners earn.

Jobs like Gopuff

DoorDash and Uber Eats deliver convenience store orders as well as restaurant food, and Spark Driver covers Walmart orders.

11. Eaze

Eaze is a cannabis delivery platform, best known in California. Drivers deliver orders from licensed retailers to customers and check ID at the door. Cannabis sales are limited to adults 21 and over, so expect the same minimum age for drivers, plus a valid driver's license.

First step: Look for driver openings in your city on Eaze's site, then compare them with the driver jobs local licensed dispensaries post.

More on Eaze: requirements, pay and downsides

Pros

Eaze has historically hired drivers for scheduled shifts through a licensed retailer, not as per-order gig workers, which makes the income steadier than the food apps.

Cons

It is only available where cannabis delivery is legal, and scheduled shifts give you less freedom than an app you can open at any time. Eaze's driver pages blocked my check, so confirm current openings and pay on its site.

Pay

Eaze does not publish a current pay figure that I could verify.

Jobs like Eaze

Cannabis delivery jobs are local. Licensed dispensaries in legal states often hire their own drivers, so check the job listings of dispensaries near you.

What's The Best Delivery App Job?

There is no single best app, because the right one depends on what you have and how soon you need the money.

Which app should you start with?

Find your situation below and start there. Apply to the first app named, then add the second once you have a few deliveries done.

  • No car: Start with Uber Eats, which lists delivery by bike and on foot. DoorDash and Grubhub allow bicycles or scooters in some cities. Shipt, Spark Driver and Amazon Flex are out, because they require a car.
  • Under 21: DoorDash takes drivers at 18 in most states, and Uber Eats takes bike and foot couriers at 18 and car drivers at 19. Grubhub, Shipt, Spark Driver and Favor also start at 18. Amazon Flex requires 21, and you should expect the same from Saucey, Gopuff and Eaze. In California, DoorDash requires 21 for new applicants and Uber Eats requires 21 to deliver by car.
  • Small town: Start with DoorDash, which is in over 7,000 US cities, the widest coverage any app here publishes. If there is a Walmart nearby, add Spark Driver, since its orders start at Walmart stores. Saucey, Gopuff and Eaze are city apps, and Favor only helps in Texas.
  • You would rather shop than wait at restaurants: Instacart, Shipt or Spark Driver.
  • You want a published pay range and longer shifts: Amazon Flex, if you are 21 and have a 4-door midsize sedan or larger.
  • You live in Texas: add Favor.
  • You want same-day pay: Grubhub makes earnings available 15 minutes after a delivery, Uber Eats lets you cash out up to 6 times a day, DoorDash once a day for $1.99, and Favor anytime for $0.99. Instacart also has instant cashout for a small fee. Amazon Flex lets you pick daily pay days, but tipped blocks take 2 to 3 days. There are more options in our list of ways to get paid today.

One tip is to sign up with more than one company. As an independent contractor you can run two apps and take whichever order pays better.

To decide which company to start with, I recommend checking out DoorDash. Read the full DoorDash review first if you want the downsides before you apply.

Why Should You Have a Delivery Job?

Delivery apps are one of the few side jobs you can start within days with no experience. Here is what you get, and what it costs you.

Delivering is rewarding!

You are paid for every order you complete, you keep your tips on the apps above that say so, and several apps let you cash out the same day. What you make per hour depends on your city and the hours you pick, which is why most of these companies do not publish a number.

Enjoy the freedom of choosing when to work!

With DoorDash, Uber Eats or Instacart you decide when to log on. There is no boss setting your hours, and you can stop as soon as you have made what you need. Don't feel like working because it's your dog's birthday? Take the day off.

Get fitter while your bank account gets fatter!

In cities where bike or foot delivery is allowed, you get exercise while you earn. If that appeals to you, there are also apps that pay you to lose weight.

Know the costs before you start

Gas, extra maintenance and wear on your car come out of your earnings, and no app here withholds taxes for you. Keep a mileage log, set money aside for tax season, and tell your insurer you deliver so you know what your policy covers.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which delivery app pays the most?

No delivery app pays the most everywhere, because pay depends on your city, the hours you work and tips. Amazon Flex is the only app in this guide that publishes a range, and it says most delivery partners earn $18 to $25 per hour. Postmates is no longer a separate choice. Its couriers now deliver through Uber Eats.

Which pays more, DoorDash or Uber Eats?

DoorDash and Uber Eats pay the same way: base pay, promotions and 100% of tips. Neither publishes an hourly average, and which one pays more changes by city and time of day. The simplest test is to sign up for both and compare a week of real earnings.

How much does Uber Eats pay?

Uber Eats pays a base fare plus promotions plus tips, and you keep 100% of your tips. Uber does not publish an hourly figure. The app shows what each order pays before you accept it, and Instant Pay lets you cash out up to 6 times a day for a fee.

Which is the best food delivery app to drive for?

For most people DoorDash is the best food delivery app to start with, since it is in over 7,000 US cities and has no specific vehicle requirements. Uber Eats and Grubhub are worth adding as a second app. If delivery is not for you, see the best side hustles and the best side hustle apps.

Can you do delivery app jobs without a car?

Yes, in some cities. DoorDash allows scooters and bicycles in select cities, Uber Eats lists bike and on-foot delivery, and Grubhub allows bicycles and scooters depending on the market. Shipt, Spark Driver and Amazon Flex all require a vehicle.

How old do you have to be to work for a delivery app?

Most delivery apps require you to be at least 18. DoorDash raises that to 19 in some states and 21 for new applicants in California, Uber Eats requires 19 to deliver by car, and Amazon Flex requires 21.

How much do delivery drivers make after gas and expenses?

It depends on tips and miles. A UC Berkeley Labor Center report on five large metro areas found delivery drivers earned a median of $9.87 to $13.62 an hour after expenses with tips included, and far less without tips. In the worked example on this page, a 4-hour block paying $72 leaves $63.60 after gas, or $26.40 after the full cost of the miles at the IRS rate.

Know someone who could use extra cash?
Send them this guide. It is free to read and takes a minute to share.
Free for you tooRip a free bonus card on ReferralWallet, worth up to $75Rip a card →
Brian Meiggs
Brian Meiggs
Brian Meiggs founded BeerMoney and has spent over a decade writing about money. He tries every app and product before it goes on the site. No fluff, no guesswork. Named to the Northern Virginia 40 Under 40 earlier this year, and featured in WSJ, Business Insider, and Entrepreneur. Off the clock: chess, the gym, a quiet night in.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here